Newsletter, Week 2, Term 1 2023

Kia ora koutou BDS whānau,                                                                  Week 2, Term 1, 2023   We have had a wonderful start to

Read More

Announcement : 

SchooI Board Parent Election 2022 – nominations close on Wednesday 3 August at 12 noon. Election day is Wednesday 7 September. Please follow this link for more information:

School Houses


Our school Houses are named after four famous Kiwis who represent our BEST values: Jean Batten, Peter Blake, Edmund Hillary, and Kate Sheppard. 


Year 6 children who express and interest in becoming a House Leader complete an application form, are given problem-solving tasks, and attend a group interview. The teachers then have the difficult, yet enjoyable, task of narrowing down and selecting 12 deserving Leaders from a large group of worthy candidates. The House Leaders endeavour to lead their Houses with the Botany Downs ‘BEST’ values in mind. 

Congratulations to the following students who have been selected as House Leaders for 2022:

BATTEN House: Anthony Xu, Mia El Chami, Madison Kong

BLAKE House: Jesse Elliott, Mila Carr, Selena Wu

HILLARY House: Dhyna Patel, Yufei (Emma) Li, Ella Hartnoll

SHEPPARD House: Louie Yu, Jamie Bruwer, Livia Ramos



Hillary – Sir Edmund Hillary, mountaineer and humanitarian

Sheppard – Kate Sheppard, New Zealand suffragist

Batten – Jean Batten, aviator and adventurer

Blake – Sir Peter Blake, sailing hero and environmental champion